Rules of the Road

Date:July 21, 2014

Rules of the Road

Maureen Raiche Manning discusses how to safely operate a motor vehicle by obeying the Rules of the Road.

One of the top causes of premature death in the United States, as any Manchester car accident attorney will tell you, is road traffic accidents. Each year, more than 40,000 people are killed in car crashes and more than two million people are injured. In addition to the terrible human cost, these accidents often leave families without a provider and may cost the injured tens of thousands of dollars in treatment costs and lost wages.

Modified Comparative Negligence

In New Hampshire, if you are injured or killed in a car accident, you or your family may file a claim for damages if the accident was the result of someone else’s negligence. However, New Hampshire is a modified comparative negligence state. This means that, if the injured party is as much as 50 percent at fault for the accident, they are not allowed to claim for damages. If they contribute any percentage of fault up to and including 49 percent, they may claim, but only a limited amount. This is why it is important to contact a Manchester car accident attorney if you are injured in a traffic collision.

Rules of the Road

By following a few simple rules of the road, you can reduce your risk of becoming involved in a car accident and help to make sure the roads are safer for everybody. You may already consider yourself a safe driver. Still, everyone falls into bad habits sometimes, and it is good to remind yourself once in a while of these basic safety measures:

  • Leave a safe distance between yourself and the car in front of you
  • Stop at stop signs
  • Yield the right of way to other drivers already on the road
  • We must safely maintain our cars and trucks
  • We must stop for pedestrians at a crosswalk

Contact a Manchester Car Accident Attorney

If you or someone you know has been injured in a road traffic accident in the past three years, contact the law office of Manning & Zimmerman PLLC on (603) 624-7200. In New Hampshire, the statute of limitations for filing an action to recover damages from injuries as a result of a car accident is three years. For more information on personal injury laws in your state and for help preparing your claim for compensation, contact a Manchester car accident attorney.

 

Request A
free consultation

      The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.
Personal Injury Lawyer Manchester NH

Download Your Free Book Now!

Immediately get the answers to questions about your case.

Thank You